Cancer Update #8

August 9, 2015

Dear Friends & Family,

I finally received The Call today from Princess Margaret Cancer hospital. They have a bed for me. Unless the last remnants of the mild cold I have sends me home, I will be checking in later this afternoon. Then I begin The Ordeal – the stem cell transplant for my myeloma cancer. I anticipate being in hospital for 2-3 weeks unless I have a bad infection, in which case it could be longer. I expect to have a slow recovery afterwards.

Please do not come and visit me in the hospital. I gather that there are 5 days or so of this process which are ghastly. I will not be a pretty sight, nor will I have energy for anything except survival. Once I’m home, I might like visitors in very small doses.

I loved getting all your letters after my last update. I fully intended to respond to them, but somehow it never happened. Don’t feel any pressure to write; on the other hand, know that I love feeling a connection with you via your letters. Again, you may or may not hear back from me.

I’ve added a few new people to this list. If you don’t want the letters, let me know & I’ll take you off the list.

How do I feel? Like I’m about to head out on an Outward Bound course minus the beautiful Northern wilderness. But that feel of a journey. I put on that hospital gown and hand my flesh over to them. New people, big rapids, canoe might flip and I hope I have enough safety gear to survive.

Wish me luck.

Love,

Diana

Leave a Reply

