Cancer Update #6

Monday, April 20, 2015

Dear Friends and Colleagues,

The group show at Humber College was a great success with a buzzy opening and lots of people in attendance. For those of you who didn’t see it at the show, I have finally put the new work, Mortal Selfies, up online.I’d love for you to have a look at it:

http://www.dianameredith.com/gallery_mortalSelfies.php

The files are fairly large, so patience please as they load. In the analogue world, the viewer can move around the objects; here I’ve given you close-ups instead so that you can read the text.

I’ve also used this opportunity to update my website in other places. There are three more new galleries, other than Mortal Selfies. If you have time, have a look at them too:

My MFA thesis work is here:

http://www.dianameredith.com/gallery_age.php

The ink drawings which led up to Mortal Selfies are here: http://www.dianameredith.com/gallery_inkDrawings.php

And an older project about my neighbourhood which is only now getting itself online:

http://www.dianameredith.com/gallery_theNabe.php

I’m in Week 12 of my Induction Chemo. Mostly I have no side effects from it. One of the weirdest ones I do have is that my sense of taste is altered. Some days everything tastes like cardboard; other days I can only taste strong acid, sweet and salt. I find myself wanting to add salt to everything and then remembering that it is my taste buds, not the food that is the problem. I realize, sadly, how much pleasure I normally take from good tastes. In general, though, I am in much better shape than I was prior to my diagnosis. I have more energy because I’m not so anemic; my back and legs don’t hurt all the time because of the strong steroids I’m on and I’m no longer in a state of abject terror wondering what on earth is going on with my body. Cancer is scary, but the unknown was even scarier. I am worried about my back (a herniated disc) post steroids. I’m addressing this by doing Mitzvah. It is a body alignment modality akin to Feldenkrais and Alexander Technique. I’m hoping this work will alleviate my back pain.

Meanwhile I’ve joined a cancer support group and connected with a Toronto Myeloma organization. It is great to talk with other people who have gone through cancer treatments. This coming summer I will be having the next phase of my treatment – Stem Cell Transplant. I’m not looking forward to it. I’m trying to learn as much as I can about it now to lessen the mystery. This is when the high dose chemo happens. It sounds as if there is a long recovery period required afterwards. The medical team recommends not going back to work for 3-6 months with many people needing another 6 months after that. With those time lines in mind, I have decided to permanently leave teaching at Humber College. They need to find someone to take the digital courses to the next stage. And I’ve decided it is time to give myself over to my art more fully. I’m sad to leave teaching, but also ready to move on.

I’m about to start the next cancer art series. I can’t say too much about it yet except that I’m excited about getting it going. I’ll keep you posted. Of course I’d love hear what you think of the new art; however I may not give you much of a reply as I’m in Art First mode. Also, for those of you also on Face Book with me, the silence is about to end. I’m about to announce these galleries there, so FB will know about the cancer. Lastly, if you want off this list, let me know and please feel no obligation to reply.

Cheers,

Diana

 

Leave a Reply

