Cancer Update #2

Jan 26, 2015

Dear Friends, Family & Colleagues,

Thank you so much for all your warm and loving letters. Even though I’m not able to answer them all, please know that they hit the heart strings where they should. I feel very loved and supported. Many of you have asked for updates so I’ve put you on this list. If it is all too creepy and you don’t want these, please let me know. Some of you already know what is in this letter…

Well events are unfolding much more rapidly than I could have imagined. Fortunately my excellent colleagues at Humber stepped up to the plate very quickly to find a teaching replacement for me. It was good they moved so quickly because on Friday at 5:30 PM I received a call from my nephrologist saying that because of some dramatic test results, I needed to proceed immediately to Toronto General Hospital and be admitted. There was fear that the massive dumps of protein that the cancerous white blood cells are producing would further damage the kidneys and move me towards dialysis. They wanted to start me ASAP on steroids. So an hour and a half later I was sitting at the hospital waiting to be admitted.

It is now expected that I will be in hospital until the end of the week. Today I get passed from the nephrologists to the haematology team, as myeloma is a disease of the blood. They will do a bone marrow test soon to ascertain what flavour of myeloma I have. Then chemo will probably begin. Thus far the steroids have had the wonderful effect of diminishing the terrible bone pain I have been suffering in my foot, legs, hips and back. It is a great relief to be free of this pain, if only temporarily. Peter and others tell me that they can see the positive change in my face.

The challenges ahead are frightening, but I’m told that the particular hospitals I’m connected with in Toronto are very highly regarded for their myeloma research. Mostly, though I continue to feel held by all the love, support and clementines I have been receiving. I only wish they would let our dog, Rui, come to visit. Peter told me that twice Rui has jumped on the bed, moved the carefully placed dog cover and burrowed his head under my pillow. I feel missed!

As I said, things are unfolding rapidly – doctors, procedures and medications – as well as trying to understand how it all works. With all this going on, I don’t want more visitors right now. Peter and I have just had a huge renovation done on our house. We hope to be moving back in next week or so. Depending on how I feel, maybe I’ll be ready to receive more visitors once we are settled in at home. I’m also hoping to continue working on my current art project which looks now as if it is reshaping itself to encompass the cancer. I suppose this will also depend on how I am feeling once chemo starts.

Love (that most important of ingredients),

Diana

Leave a Reply

